Franchise opportunities compared
TownePlace Suites by Marriott vs Travelodge Hotels
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- TownePlace Suites by Marriott and Travelodge Hotels disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (TownePlace Suites by Marriott: 10, Travelodge Hotels: 5). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Travelodge Hotels | |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $13,054,800 – $38,493,000 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $231,893 – $11,310,962 2026 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | — 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 38 | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | Not available No reviewed royalty record | 5% Royalty 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 29 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 2% Item 6 fee — to the Marketing Fund of — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 38 | $0.75 Cooperative marketing fee: $.75 per room per month 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | Not available No reviewed outlet counts | Not available No reviewed outlet counts |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | Not available Only one year reported | Not available Only one year reported |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — STR Included Hotels (2025; franchised hotels open at least two years and satisf… 72.9 percent other STR Included Hotels · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 118 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — STR Included Hotels 43 percent other STR Included Hotels · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 119 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 1-Year Comp Hotels (franchised hotels open 12 months and meeting Conditions) 109.3 units other 1-Year Comp Hotels · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 119 +7 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Qualified Chain Facilities 71 facilities other 2025 RevPAR meet/exceed count · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 82 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Qualified Chain Facilities (U.S.) 163 facilities other 2025 Qualified Chain Facilities · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 81 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All Chain Facilities in U.S. Contribution Group 317 facilities other 2025 Contribution Group Chain Facilities · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 83 +2 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
TownePlace Suites by Marriott vs Travelodge Hotels: common questions
- Which costs less to open, TownePlace Suites by Marriott or Travelodge Hotels?
- TownePlace Suites by Marriott: $13,054,800 – $38,493,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Travelodge Hotels: $231,893 – $11,310,962 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Travelodge Hotels. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- Do TownePlace Suites by Marriott and Travelodge Hotels disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- TownePlace Suites by Marriott has reviewed Item 19 figures for 10 location groups; Travelodge Hotels has reviewed Item 19 figures for 5 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.
