Franchise opportunities compared
Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. vs WOODCRAFT
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc.: 34, WOODCRAFT: 3). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. | |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $190,135 – $346,892 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $573,855 Total investment range low 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 15 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | $50,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 4% ITEM 6 Other Fees 1 Type of Fee Amount Due Date Remarks Royalty — 4% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 | 5% Royalty weekly gross revenue 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 1% Date Remarks of this Disclosure Document. W ILD B IRDS U NLIMITED Advertising Fund 5 — 1% — 1% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15 | 1.5% Renewal marketing fund — 1.5% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 690 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 65 | 65 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 38 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +10 Calculated: 680 at end of 2023 → 690 at end of 2025 | −9 Calculated: 74 at end of 2023 → 65 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 1983 From a verified franchisor listing | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Schedule5DSCparticipating24monthstores — 2024 78.26 percent other Percent of DSC Customer Sales to Total Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 64 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Schedule5DSCparticipating24monthstores — 2025 79.48 percent other Percent of DSC Customer Sales to Total Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 64 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Annual gross sales ranges12months;source total 101 stores other Schedule2C $500,000.01 - $750,000 · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55 +31 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bottom half 26 units other Bottom half · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top half 27 units other Top half · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All stores $1,848,662 other All stores · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37 |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. vs WOODCRAFT: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. or WOODCRAFT?
- Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc.: $190,135 – $346,892 (2026 FDD · Item 7); WOODCRAFT: $573,855 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 15). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc.. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. and WOODCRAFT royalties compare?
- Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc.: 4% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14); WOODCRAFT: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Which has more locations, Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. or WOODCRAFT?
- Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc.: 690 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 65); WOODCRAFT: 65 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 38). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
- Do Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. and WOODCRAFT disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Wild Birds Unlimited, Inc. has reviewed Item 19 figures for 34 location groups; WOODCRAFT has reviewed Item 19 figures for 3 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.
