Franchise opportunities compared

    Auto Lab vs Bumper Business

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Auto Lab

    $111,000 – $746,000

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Bumper Business

    $73,025

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Auto Lab

    $27,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Bumper Business

    $50,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Royalty · Item 6

    Auto Lab

    $6.00

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Bumper Business

    25%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Auto Lab discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Auto Lab has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Auto Lab

    $111,000 – $746,000
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Bumper Business

    $73,025
    Total Initial Investment
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Auto Lab

    $27,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Bumper Business

    $50,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Auto Lab

    $6.00
    Royalty
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Bumper Business

    25%
    Continuing Service Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Auto Lab

    $3.00
    Regional/national advertising maximum
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Bumper Business

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Auto Lab

    19
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 39

    Bumper Business

    141
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 39
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Auto Lab

    +18
    Calculated: 1 at end of 2022 → 19 at end of 2024

    Bumper Business

    +9
    Calculated: 132 at end of 2023 → 141 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Auto Lab

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Bumper Business

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Auto Lab

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Bumper Business

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Auto Lab

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Bumper Business

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Auto Lab
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 17 Auto-Lab Complete Car Care Center franchised stores operating for the full 2…
    47 percent
    other Percent of stores attaining or surpassing average gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 38
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate Belleville, Michigan franchise
    $87,884
    other Gross sales from tire sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 38
    BBBumper Business

    No reviewed Item 19 figures

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Auto Lab vs Bumper Business: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Auto Lab or Bumper Business?
    Auto Lab: $111,000 – $746,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Bumper Business: $73,025 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Bumper Business. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Auto Lab and Bumper Business royalties compare?
    Auto Lab: $6.00 (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13); Bumper Business: 25% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Auto Lab or Bumper Business?
    Auto Lab: 19 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 39); Bumper Business: 141 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 39). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Auto Lab and Bumper Business disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Auto Lab has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups; Bumper Business has no reviewed Item 19 figures on file. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching