Franchise opportunities compared

    Dog Haus Restaurants vs Five Guys

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    $99,612 – $1,340,300

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Five Guys

    $52,100 – $927,850

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    $40,000

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    Five Guys

    $25,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15

    Royalty · Item 6

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    6%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15

    Five Guys

    8%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Before you compare

    • Dog Haus Restaurants figures come from its 2025 FDD and Five Guys figures from its 2026 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Dog Haus Restaurants and Five Guys disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Dog Haus Restaurants has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    $99,612 – $1,340,300
    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Five Guys

    $52,100 – $927,850
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    $40,000
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    Five Guys

    $25,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    6%
    Royalty — Fast Casual and Biergarten
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15

    Five Guys

    8%
    s. If the Restaurant is located in Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico, the Royalty Fee is — 8%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    $5,000
    Sub-Branded Products marketing expenditure
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    Five Guys

    $250
    , depending on your advertising needs When billed Prohibited Product or Service Fine — 250
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    59
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 83

    Five Guys

    1,583
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 54
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    +10
    Calculated: 49 at end of 2022 → 59 at end of 2024

    Five Guys

    +62
    Calculated: 1,521 at end of 2023 → 1,583 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Five Guys

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Five Guys

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Dog Haus Restaurants

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Five Guys

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    DHDog Haus Restaurants
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised Dog Haus Biergartens open for more than one year at year end
    27 outlets
    other Table 4 sample size
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 75
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised Remote Kitchens open for more than one year on December 31, 2022
    $1,390,774
    other Table 9 median gross sales
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 77
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised Dog Haus Fast Casual Restaurants open for more than one year at year…
    12 outlets
    other Table 1 sample size
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 74
    +4 more groups in the full report
    Five Guys

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Dog Haus Restaurants vs Five Guys: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Dog Haus Restaurants or Five Guys?
    Dog Haus Restaurants: $99,612 – $1,340,300 (2025 FDD · Item 7); Five Guys: $52,100 – $927,850 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Five Guys. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Dog Haus Restaurants and Five Guys royalties compare?
    Dog Haus Restaurants: 6% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15); Five Guys: 8% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Dog Haus Restaurants or Five Guys?
    Dog Haus Restaurants: 59 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 83); Five Guys: 1,583 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 54). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Dog Haus Restaurants and Five Guys disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Dog Haus Restaurants has reviewed Item 19 figures for 7 location groups; Five Guys makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching