Franchise opportunities compared

    Dunkin' vs PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Dunkin'

    $142,000 – $1,832,500

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    $265,500 – $1,680,000

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Dunkin'

    $40,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 35

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    $40,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 13

    Royalty · Item 6

    Dunkin'

    5.9%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 44

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Dunkin' and PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Dunkin': 13, PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans: 29). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Dunkin'

    $142,000 – $1,832,500
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    $265,500 – $1,680,000
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Dunkin'

    $40,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 35

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    $40,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 13
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Dunkin'

    5.9%
    Continuing Franchise Fee rate
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 44

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    5%
    Traditional Inline/End Cap Model Royalty — 5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Dunkin'

    2.5%
    Continuing Advertising Fee SDO — 2.5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 44

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    $15,000
    Initial Marketing Fee — $15000
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Dunkin'

    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Dunkin'

    Not available
    Only one year reported

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    Not available
    Only one year reported
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Dunkin'

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Dunkin'

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    1989
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Dunkin'

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Dunkin'
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 2025 Franchised Restaurants; 1st Quartile
    $6,007,706
    other 2025 1st Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 97
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 2025 Franchised Restaurants; 2nd Quartile
    50 percent
    other 2025 2nd Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 97
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 2025 Franchised Restaurants; 4th Quartile
    $718,088
    other 2025 4th Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 97
    +10 more groups in the full report
    PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate Location 2
    $481,598
    other Affiliate Location 2
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate Location 4
    $932,448
    other Affiliate Location 4
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate Location 1
    $354,256
    other Affiliate Location 1
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    +26 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Dunkin' vs PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Dunkin' or PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans?
    Dunkin': $142,000 – $1,832,500 (2026 FDD · Item 7); PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans: $265,500 – $1,680,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Dunkin'. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Dunkin' and PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans royalties compare?
    Dunkin': 5.9% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 44); PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Do Dunkin' and PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Dunkin' has reviewed Item 19 figures for 13 location groups; PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans has reviewed Item 19 figures for 29 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching