Franchise opportunities compared

    Groovy Hues Painting vs Painter Bros

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Groovy Hues Painting

    $156,829 – $379,001

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Painter Bros

    $206,135 – $1,115,430

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Groovy Hues Painting

    $59,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 16

    Painter Bros

    $75,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Royalty · Item 6

    Groovy Hues Painting

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22

    Painter Bros

    2% · percentage of gross sales; minimum of $1,000 per month per territory

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Groovy Hues Painting and Painter Bros disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Groovy Hues Painting: 8, Painter Bros: 1). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    $156,829 – $379,001
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Painter Bros

    $206,135 – $1,115,430
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    $59,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 16

    Painter Bros

    $75,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    6%
    Royalty — tier 1: 6%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22

    Painter Bros

    2% · percentage of gross sales; minimum of $1,000 per month per territory
    Royalty – conversion franchise
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    3%
    Brand Fund Contribution ceiling — 3%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 26

    Painter Bros

    $250/mo
    Advertising fee — greater of $250 per territory per month or 2% of monthly gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    78
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 92

    Painter Bros

    42
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    +32
    Calculated: 46 at end of 2024 → 78 at end of 2025

    Painter Bros

    +28
    Calculated: 14 at end of 2023 → 42 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Painter Bros

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Painter Bros

    January 2017
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 9
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Groovy Hues Painting

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Painter Bros

    2017
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 9

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    GHGroovy Hues Painting
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Reporting Businesses: 9 franchisees operating 47 Protected Territories for the…
    $1,544,628
    other Commercial gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 91
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top Third group of Reporting Businesses (franchisees ranked in the top third by…
    $3,930,000
    other Top Third
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 90
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bottom Third group of Reporting Businesses (franchisees ranked in the bottom th…
    $326,066
    other Bottom Third
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 90
    +5 more groups in the full report
    Painter Bros
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record
    $5,485,345
    other Affiliate-owned outlet gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 51

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Groovy Hues Painting vs Painter Bros: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Groovy Hues Painting or Painter Bros?
    Groovy Hues Painting: $156,829 – $379,001 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Painter Bros: $206,135 – $1,115,430 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Groovy Hues Painting. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Groovy Hues Painting and Painter Bros royalties compare?
    Groovy Hues Painting: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22); Painter Bros: 2% · percentage of gross sales; minimum of $1,000 per month per territory (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Groovy Hues Painting or Painter Bros?
    Groovy Hues Painting: 78 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 92); Painter Bros: 42 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Groovy Hues Painting and Painter Bros disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Groovy Hues Painting has reviewed Item 19 figures for 8 location groups; Painter Bros has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching