Franchise opportunities compared

    last mile vs Unishippers

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    last mile

    $124,775 – $454,520

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Unishippers

    $17,365

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 20

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    last mile

    $50,000

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10

    Unishippers

    $30,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    Royalty · Item 6

    last mile

    8%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Unishippers

    15%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Before you compare

    • last mile figures come from its 2025 FDD and Unishippers figures from its 2026 FDD, so the years differ.
    • last mile discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Unishippers has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    last mile

    $124,775 – $454,520
    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Unishippers

    $17,365
    Totalinvestment range low
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 20
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    last mile

    $50,000
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10

    Unishippers

    $30,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14
    Royalty (Item 6)

    last mile

    8%
    Royalty rate
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Unishippers

    15%
    Royalty >150pounds grossprofitmargin
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    last mile

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    Unishippers

    1%
    Marketingfund current grossprofitmargin — 1%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    last mile

    23
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 40

    Unishippers

    192
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 47
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    last mile

    +5
    Calculated: 18 at end of 2022 → 23 at end of 2024

    Unishippers

    −86
    Calculated: 278 at end of 2023 → 192 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    last mile

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Unishippers

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    last mile

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Unishippers

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    last mile

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Unishippers

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    LMlast mile

    No reviewed Item 19 figures

    Unishippers
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All fullyearfranchises 2nd Quartile
    $1,627,146
    other All fullyearfranchises 2nd Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All fullyearfranchises 3rd Quartile
    38 units
    other All fullyearfranchises 3rd Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All fullyearfranchises Top Quartile
    39 units
    other All fullyearfranchises Top Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    +25 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    last mile vs Unishippers: common questions

    Which costs less to open, last mile or Unishippers?
    last mile: $124,775 – $454,520 (2025 FDD · Item 7); Unishippers: $17,365 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 20). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Unishippers. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do last mile and Unishippers royalties compare?
    last mile: 8% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11); Unishippers: 15% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, last mile or Unishippers?
    last mile: 23 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 40); Unishippers: 192 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 47). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do last mile and Unishippers disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    last mile has no reviewed Item 19 figures on file; Unishippers has reviewed Item 19 figures for 28 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching