Franchise opportunities compared

    My Place Hotels of America vs Residence Inn by Marriott

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    My Place Hotels of America

    $272,500

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 24

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    $15,396,510 – $45,474,010

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not available

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    —

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 38

    Royalty · Item 6

    My Place Hotels of America

    0%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Residence Inn by Marriott discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Residence Inn by Marriott has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    My Place Hotels of America

    $272,500
    Total initial investment
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 24

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    $15,396,510 – $45,474,010
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    —
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 38
    Royalty (Item 6)

    My Place Hotels of America

    0%
    Royalty — first 30 days
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    My Place Hotels of America

    2.5%
    Marketing and reservation fund fee — 2.5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    820
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 123
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not available
    Only one year reported

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    +33
    Calculated: 787 at end of 2023 → 820 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    My Place Hotels of America

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Residence Inn by Marriott
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — STR Included (at least two years)
    119.7 index
    other STR Included
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 117
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 1-Year Comp
    $127
    other 1-Year Comp
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 118
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New Generation (ninth-generation-or-later design STR Included)
    86.7 percent
    other New Generation
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 118
    +3 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    My Place Hotels of America vs Residence Inn by Marriott: common questions

    Which costs less to open, My Place Hotels of America or Residence Inn by Marriott?
    My Place Hotels of America: $272,500 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 24); Residence Inn by Marriott: $15,396,510 – $45,474,010 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for My Place Hotels of America. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    Do My Place Hotels of America and Residence Inn by Marriott disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    My Place Hotels of America makes no Item 19 financial performance representation; Residence Inn by Marriott has reviewed Item 19 figures for 6 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching