Franchise opportunities compared

    Omex vs Royal

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Omex

    $52,400 – $82,600

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 14

    Royal

    $22,696 – $81,312

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 37

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Omex

    Not available

    Royal

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Omex

    4% · percent of Gross Receipts

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9

    Royal

    11% · percent of monthly Gross Revenue; $100 minimum for first 12 months and $250 minimum thereafter

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Only neither brand has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Omex

    $52,400 – $82,600
    Total
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 14

    Royal

    $22,696 – $81,312
    Total
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 37
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Omex

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    Royal

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Omex

    4% · percent of Gross Receipts
    Continuing Services and Royalty Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9

    Royal

    11% · percent of monthly Gross Revenue; $100 minimum for first 12 months and $250 minimum thereafter
    Royalty Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Omex

    1% of up to percent of gross receipts
    Advertising and Development Fund
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9

    Royal

    1.5% of monthly gross revenue
    Advertising Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Omex

    18
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 36

    Royal

    4,750
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 72
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Omex

    +17
    Calculated: 1 at end of 2022 → 18 at end of 2025

    Royal

    −178
    Calculated: 4,928 at end of 2023 → 4,750 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Omex

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Royal

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Omex

    1991
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 7

    Royal

    June 1, 2003
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Omex

    1990
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 6

    Royal

    Incorporated in April 2003; reincorporated under Wisconsin law in April 2008
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    OOmex

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Royal

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Omex vs Royal: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Omex or Royal?
    Omex: $52,400 – $82,600 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 14); Royal: $22,696 – $81,312 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 37). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Royal. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Omex and Royal royalties compare?
    Omex: 4% · percent of Gross Receipts (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9); Royal: 11% · percent of monthly Gross Revenue; $100 minimum for first 12 months and $250 minimum thereafter (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Omex or Royal?
    Omex: 18 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 36); Royal: 4,750 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 72). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Omex and Royal disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Omex makes no Item 19 financial performance representation; Royal makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching