Franchise opportunities compared

    Qc Group vs Sylvan Learning

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Qc Group and Sylvan Learning disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Qc Group: 2, Sylvan Learning: 1). Different groups are not directly comparable.
    DisclosureQGQc GroupSylvan Learning
    Financial commitment
    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
    $265,100 – $670,080
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    $117,600 – $288,400
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)
    $55,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 17
    $46,900
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 16
    Royalty (Item 6)
    $8.00
    Royalty rate
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18
    $11
    Royalty standard programs
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)
    $1.00
    Brand development fee contribution
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 19
    $5.00
    National Advertising Fund contribution
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18
    System scale & health
    Total outlets (Item 20)
    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts
    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts
    Net outlet change (Item 20)
    Not available
    Only one year reported
    Not available
    Only one year reported
    Outlet exits (Item 20)
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Performance (Item 19)
    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised businesses owned and operated by franchisees
    $351,997
    mean Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 60
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised businesses owned and operated by franchisees
    $150,389
    mean Gross revenue · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 61
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record
    $795,074
    other 2025 top quartile gross sales average · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 68

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.