Franchise opportunities compared

    Residence Inn by Marriott vs Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    $15,396,510 – $45,474,010

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    $11,116 – $23,250

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    —

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 38

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    $2,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Royalty · Item 6

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    Not available

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Residence Inn by Marriott discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Residence Inn by Marriott: 6, Structural Elements Micro Franchise: 44). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    $15,396,510 – $45,474,010
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    $11,116 – $23,250
    Total initial investment — $11,116–$23,250
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    —
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 38

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    $2,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    2%
    Regional marketing cooperative contribution — combined advertising cap 2%; no current cooperative — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    820
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 123

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    10
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 40
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    +33
    Calculated: 787 at end of 2023 → 820 at end of 2025

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    −1
    Calculated: 11 at end of 2023 → 10 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Residence Inn by Marriott

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Structural Elements Micro Franchise

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Residence Inn by Marriott
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — STR Included (at least two years)
    119.7 index
    other STR Included
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 117
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 1-Year Comp
    $127
    other 1-Year Comp
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 118
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New Generation (ninth-generation-or-later design STR Included)
    86.7 percent
    other New Generation
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 118
    +3 more groups in the full report
    Structural Elements Micro Franchise
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Micro-Franchise businesses — year 4 of operation
    $154,906
    other gross receipts
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Micro-Franchise businesses — year 2 of operation
    $102,728
    other gross receipts
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Micro-Franchise businesses — year 1 of operation
    3 businesses
    other Number meeting or exceeding average
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    +41 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Residence Inn by Marriott vs Structural Elements Micro Franchise: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Residence Inn by Marriott or Structural Elements Micro Franchise?
    Residence Inn by Marriott: $15,396,510 – $45,474,010 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Structural Elements Micro Franchise: $11,116 – $23,250 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Structural Elements Micro Franchise. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    Which has more locations, Residence Inn by Marriott or Structural Elements Micro Franchise?
    Residence Inn by Marriott: 820 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 123); Structural Elements Micro Franchise: 10 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 40). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Residence Inn by Marriott and Structural Elements Micro Franchise disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Residence Inn by Marriott has reviewed Item 19 figures for 6 location groups; Structural Elements Micro Franchise has reviewed Item 19 figures for 44 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching