Franchise opportunities compared

    Smallman Tools vs The UPS Store®

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Smallman Tools

    Not available

    The UPS Store®

    $85,925 – $606,081

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Smallman Tools

    $10,000

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 3

    The UPS Store®

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Smallman Tools

    Not available

    The UPS Store®

    5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 28

    Before you compare

    • Smallman Tools figures come from its 2025 FDD and The UPS Store® figures from its 2026 FDD, so the years differ.
    • The UPS Store® discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only The UPS Store® has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed Item 7 total

    The UPS Store®

    $85,925 – $606,081
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Smallman Tools

    $10,000
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 3

    The UPS Store®

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record

    The UPS Store®

    5%
    Royalty — percentage of subject-to-royalty sales
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 28
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    The UPS Store®

    2.5%
    National Advertising Fee — 2.5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 29

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts

    The UPS Store®

    5,503
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 83
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    Only one year reported

    The UPS Store®

    +269
    Calculated: 5,234 at end of 2023 → 5,503 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    The UPS Store®

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    The UPS Store®

    1980
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Smallman Tools

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    The UPS Store®

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Smallman Tools

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    The UPS Store®
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All franchised Traditional The UPS Store Centers in the United States operating…
    $724,293
    other 2025 average annual adjusted gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 80
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All franchised Traditional The UPS Store Centers in the United States operating…
    $719,842
    other 2024 average annual adjusted gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 80
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top-performing 10% of franchised Traditional Centers
    $1,248,208
    other 2025 top-performing 10% average annual adjusted gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 81
    +6 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Smallman Tools vs The UPS Store®: common questions

    Do Smallman Tools and The UPS Store® disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Smallman Tools makes no Item 19 financial performance representation; The UPS Store® has reviewed Item 19 figures for 9 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching