Franchise opportunities compared

    Square Cow vs STORsquare

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Square Cow

    $167,250

    2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 21

    STORsquare

    $165,770

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Square Cow

    $59,500

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    STORsquare

    $54,900

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 9

    Royalty · Item 6

    Square Cow

    7%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    STORsquare

    7.5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Before you compare

    • Square Cow figures come from its 2025 FDD and STORsquare figures from its 2026 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Square Cow: 9, STORsquare: 1). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Square Cow

    $167,250
    Total estimated initial investment
    2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 21

    STORsquare

    $165,770
    TOTAL for one Territory: $165,770 low amount to $433,900 high amount.
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Square Cow

    $59,500
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    STORsquare

    $54,900
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 9
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Square Cow

    7%
    Royalty Fee
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    STORsquare

    7.5%
    Royalty weekly startsmonth7
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Square Cow

    1%
    National brand fund current rate — 1%
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    STORsquare

    2%
    Brand fund current — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Square Cow

    9
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58

    STORsquare

    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Square Cow

    +2
    Calculated: 7 at end of 2022 → 9 at end of 2024

    STORsquare

    Not available
    Only one year reported
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Square Cow

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    STORsquare

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Square Cow

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    STORsquare

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Square Cow

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    STORsquare

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    SCSquare Cow
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — North Austin company-owned Square Cow Business
    $60,000
    other 2024 Rent
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 52
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — South Austin company-owned Square Cow Business
    $65,601
    other 2024 Rent
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 52
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Southlake company-owned Square Cow Business
    $45,802
    other 2024 Advertising
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 52
    +6 more groups in the full report
    STORsquare
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record
    $2,673
    other Office Expenses
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Square Cow vs STORsquare: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Square Cow or STORsquare?
    Square Cow: $167,250 (2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 21); STORsquare: $165,770 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for STORsquare. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Square Cow and STORsquare royalties compare?
    Square Cow: 7% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13); STORsquare: 7.5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Do Square Cow and STORsquare disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Square Cow has reviewed Item 19 figures for 9 location groups; STORsquare has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching