Kilwins

    Franchise research report · reviewed 2026 disclosure data

    Researching Kilwins franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.

    Reviewed sources

    Kilwins franchise specializes in handcrafted chocolates, fudge, and premium ice cream through charming retail locations that combine traditional confectionery w

    Headline figures

    Quick facts

    How much does it cost to open a Kilwins franchise?
    The Kilwins Franchise Disclosure Document reports separate estimated initial investments by format: $405,045–$522,096 for scoops and sweets total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimate (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 21); $484,638–$522,096 for full-line store total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimate (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 21). These formats are not combined. Each is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
    What is the Kilwins initial franchise fee?
    The disclosed initial franchise fee for a standard single unit is $3,000 (2026 FDD, Item 5, PDF p. 14). Other fee options (for example multi-unit or conversion) are listed separately in the report. Details
    What ongoing fees does Kilwins charge?
    The disclosed ongoing royalty is $5 (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 14). The brand or advertising fund contribution is $3 (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 14). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
    Does Kilwins disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Yes. The Kilwins FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2026 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 54). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
    How many Kilwins locations are there?
    The FDD reports 187 outlets at the end of 2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 58). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    What the disclosures show

    1. 1The 2026 FDD (Item 7) estimates opening costs separately by format: $405,045 – $522,096 (Scoops and Sweets total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimate); $484,638 – $522,096 (Full-Line Store total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimate); several initial fee options apply.
    2. 2Item 19 covers 18 separate groups: revenue and other measures for 143 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 4 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 33 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 12 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 12 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 3 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 10 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 3 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 16 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 5 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 5 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 5 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue for 139 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; other measures for 139 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; other measures for 143 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue for 143 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 8 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations; revenue and other measures for 4 Franchised full-line only; no company-owned; no Scoops&Sweetsresults locations. They are not combined.
    3. 3Outlets grew by 15 in 2025, to 187 (United States, as labeled in the FDD, Item 20).

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    Costs · Items 5–7

    What does it cost to open?

    Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.

    Startup Investment — Item 7

    Range across 2 single-unit formats

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Formats disclosed in Item 7 (2)

    Each format has its own total. The total depends on the format you choose.

    • Scoops and Sweets total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimatePDF p. 21$405,045 – $522,096
    • Full-Line Store total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimatePDF p. 21$484,638 – $522,096

    Standard single-unit franchise fee

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14
    Discounted and multi-unit options are separate; see all fees.

    Ongoing Fees — Item 6

    Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.

    Royalty 5% — 5%Main ongoing fee

    35 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.

    Financial Performance — Item 19

    What results are disclosed—and for which locations?

    18 separate populations, shown apart. Revenue is not owner income.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 143 locations

    Who is counted
    All States
    Period
    Median
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 4 locations

    Who is counted
    Colorado
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 33 locations

    Who is counted
    Florida
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 12 locations

    Who is counted
    Georgia
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 12 locations

    Who is counted
    Illinois
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 3 locations

    Who is counted
    Indiana
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 10 locations

    Who is counted
    Michigan
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 3 locations

    Who is counted
    New York
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 16 locations

    Who is counted
    North Carolina
    Period
    Median
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 5 locations

    Who is counted
    Pennsylvania
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 5 locations

    Who is counted
    South Carolina
    Period
    Median
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 5 locations

    Who is counted
    Virginia
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue · 139 locations

    Who is counted
    Cost of sales
    Period
    Median
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited139storefinancialstatements/taxreturns; purchased/manufacturedproductincludingdelivery %grosssales.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 139 locations

    Who is counted
    Non-owner payroll
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited139storestatements/taxreturns; directemployee wages excludes owner compensation,taxes,benefits.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 143 locations

    Who is counted
    Transaction value
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational. Note5states128stores versus143table; preserved.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue · 143 locations

    Who is counted
    Allstates143
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 8 locations

    Who is counted
    Texas
    Period
    Above average percent
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Revenue and other measures · 4 locations

    Who is counted
    Tennessee
    Period
    Median
    Excluded
    10seasonal,2withoutfullcooking,22notopenfull12months,2atypicalformat.
    Method
    Unaudited internal records from franchisees; reported grosssales net exclusionsItem6; states only3+stores displayed,allqualifyingstatesincludednational.

    These groups are never combined.

    Outlet Changes — Item 20

    How has the outlet count changed?

    United States, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of 2025 of each year.

    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58

    Net +28 outlets, 2023–2025

    0159202317220241872025+13+15

    Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2025 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.

    Questions to investigate

    Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.

    For the franchisor

    • Which line items in the 2026 Item 7 estimate ($405,045 – $522,096) vary most by market, and why?

    • Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?

    • Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?

    • Reported units went from 172 to 187 in 2025. How many new units opened, closed or changed hands?

    • Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?

    For current and former owners

    • How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?

    • How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?

    • How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?

    • What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?

    For your advisors

    • Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.

    • Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.

    Sources & vintage history

    Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.

    Citations (2026 FDD)

    1. [1]Standard initial franchise fee — Item 5 · PDF p. 14
    2. [2]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All States · PDF p. 54
    3. [3]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Colorado · PDF p. 54
    4. [4]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Florida · PDF p. 54
    5. [5]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Georgia · PDF p. 54
    6. [6]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Illinois · PDF p. 54
    7. [7]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Indiana · PDF p. 54
    8. [8]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Michigan · PDF p. 54
    9. [9]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New York · PDF p. 54
    10. [10]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — North Carolina · PDF p. 54
    11. [11]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Pennsylvania · PDF p. 54
    12. [12]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — South Carolina · PDF p. 54
    13. [13]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Virginia · PDF p. 54
    14. [14]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Cost of sales · PDF p. 54
    15. [15]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Non-owner payroll · PDF p. 54
    16. [16]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Transaction value · PDF p. 54
    17. [17]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Allstates143 · PDF p. 55
    18. [18]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Texas · PDF p. 54
    19. [19]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Tennessee · PDF p. 54
    20. [20]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 58

    "PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page. Source document: GetFDD listing

    Territory & operations

    247 addresses in Franopolis's imported location list. Coverage may differ from Item 20 outlet counts.

    These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.

    Franchisor financial statements

    No verified franchisor financial statement figures have been reviewed yet.

    SBA-backed loans to franchisees

    Loading…

    Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.

    At a glance

    Business history

    Not reviewed

    Owner participation

    Not reviewed

    Territory language

    Litigation disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Bankruptcy disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Agreement term

    Not reviewed

    Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.