Liberty Tax Service

    Franchise research report · reviewed 2026 disclosure data

    Researching Liberty Tax Service franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.

    Reviewed sources
    Franchising since
    1997
    Source: franchise.org
    Headquarters
    Virginia Beach, VA United States
    Source: franchise.org

    Liberty Tax Service franchise specializes in income tax preparation and related financial services, operating seasonal and year-round locations across the Unite

    Headline figures

    Quick facts

    How much does it cost to open a Liberty Tax Service franchise?
    The Liberty Tax Service Franchise Disclosure Document reports an estimated initial investment of $49,700 (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 31). This is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
    What is the Liberty Tax Service initial franchise fee?
    The disclosed initial franchise fee for a standard single unit is $25,000 (2026 FDD, Item 5, PDF p. 26). Other fee options (for example multi-unit or conversion) are listed separately in the report. Details
    What ongoing fees does Liberty Tax Service charge?
    The disclosed ongoing royalty is $14 (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 27). The brand or advertising fund contribution is $2 (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 29). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
    Does Liberty Tax Service disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Yes. The Liberty Tax Service FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2026 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 60). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
    How many Liberty Tax Service locations are there?
    The FDD reports 3,326 outlets at the end of 2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 61). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    What the disclosures show

    1. 1Opening costs are estimated at $49,700 in the 2026 FDD (Item 7); several initial fee options apply.
    2. 2Item 19 reports other measures for 1,411 Franchised franchise.
    3. 3Outlets declined by 202 in 2025, to 3,326 (United States, as labeled in the FDD, Item 20).

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    Costs · Items 5–7

    What does it cost to open?

    Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.

    Startup Investment — Item 7

    Total estimated initial investment

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 31

    Standard single-unit franchise fee

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 26
    Discounted and multi-unit options are separate; see all fees.

    Ongoing Fees — Item 6

    Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.

    OTHER FEES* Fee Amount Due Date Remarks Royalties — 14%Main ongoing fee

    28 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.

    Financial Performance — Item 19

    What results are disclosed—and for which locations?

    One reported population. Revenue is not owner income.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 1,411 locations

    Who is counted
    1,411 franchise-operated Liberty Tax offices that operated during tax season 2025 and remained active into tax season 2026
    Period
    Average
    Excluded
    Processing centers, seasonal offices, and offices not active into tax season 2026 were omitted.
    Method
    Arithmeticmean/median;prepfeespreparation+transmissionlessdiscounts;returnscountfederaltransmitted;1411of1696franchise(83.2%)of1780USoffices.

    Outlet Changes — Item 20

    How has the outlet count changed?

    United States, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of 2025 of each year.

    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 61

    Net −444 outlets, 2023–2025

    03,77020233,52820243,3262025−242−202

    Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2025 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.

    Questions to investigate

    Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.

    For the franchisor

    • Which line items in the 2026 Item 7 estimate ($49,700) vary most by market, and why?

    • Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?

    • Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?

    • Reported units decreased from 3,528 to 3,326 in 2025. What drove the change?

    • Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?

    For current and former owners

    • How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?

    • How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?

    • How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?

    • What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?

    For your advisors

    • Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.

    • Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.

    Sources & vintage history

    Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.

    Citations (2026 FDD)

    1. [1]Estimated initial investment — Item 7 · PDF p. 31
    2. [2]Standard initial franchise fee — Item 5 · PDF p. 26
    3. [3]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record · PDF p. 60
    4. [4]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 61

    "PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page. Source document: FDD

    Territory & operations

    1,722 addresses in Franopolis's imported location list. Coverage may differ from Item 20 outlet counts.

    These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.

    Franchisor financial statements

    Fiscal yearMeasureReported value
    2025cash and cash equivalents$11,825
    2025loss on disposal of fixed assets$52
    2025effect of exchange rate changes on cash, net$27
    2025property, equipment, and software, net$15,696
    2025intangible assets, net$88,932
    2025income-$11,816
    2025interest expense, net-$9,665
    2025net lossMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$21,545
    2025current receivables, net$13,644
    2025current operating lease liabilities$2,678
    2025long-term obligations, excluding current installments, net$72,371
    2025goodwill$39,939
    2025investing activities issuance of operating loans to franchisees-$442
    2025other current assets$1,894
    2025other current liabilities$605
    2025total liabilities$98,925
    2025service and other$88,038
    2025cash and cash equivalents at end of year$11,825
    2025supplemental cash flow disclosure cash paid for taxes, net of refunds$683
    2025accounts, notes, and interest receivable-$1,341
    2025net cash provided by operating activities$6,523
    2025other non-current assets$344
    2025total assets$178,602
    2025current installments of long-term obligations$1,366
    2025assets held for sale$122
    2025total current assets$27,485
    2025non-current receivables, net$679
    2025operating lease right-of-use assets$5,527
    2025payments received on operating loans to franchisees$706
    2025purchases of company-owned offices, area developer rights, and acquired customer lists-$18
    2025accounts payable and accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$19,033
    2025total current liabilities$23,682
    2025non-current operating lease liabilities$2,618
    2025other non-current liabilities$254
    2025member's equity member's capital$79,677
    2025total member's equity$79,677
    2025total liabilities and member's equity$178,602
    2025total revenues$88,038
    2025selling, general, and administrative expenses$68,954
    2025depreciation and amortization expense$10,710
    2025impairment expense$20,190
    2025total operating expenses$99,854
    2025other$246
    2025loss before income taxes-$21,235
    2025income tax benefit$310
    2025net lossMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$21,545
    2025provision for doubtful accounts$1,732
    2025depreciation and amortization charges$10,710
    2025gain on bargain purchases and sales of company-owned offices-$1,601
    2025deferred income taxes$1
    2025income taxes-$374
    2025other assets$494
    2025accounts payable and accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$1,593
    2025deferred revenue-$218
    2025purchases of property, equipment, and software-$3,526
    2025net cash used in investing activities-$3,280
    2025repayment of other long-term obligations-$29
    2025net cash provided by-$2,268
    2025net increase in cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash$1,002
    2025cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year$10,823
    2025cash paid for interest$10,034
    2025accrued capital expenditures$116
    2024loss before income taxes-$3,021
    2024net lossMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$3,340
    2024income taxes-$197
    2024other assets$243
    2024net increase in cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash$4,947
    2024accumulated other comprehensive loss, net of taxes-$144
    2024total revenues$88,586
    2024selling, general, and administrative expenses$70,759
    2024other non-current liabilities$235
    2024purchases of company-owned offices, area developer rights, and acquired customer lists-$402
    2024net cash used in investing activities-$3,604
    2024loss on disposal of fixed assets$10
    2024gain on bargain purchases and sales of company-owned offices-$675
    2024operating lease right-of-use assets$4,897
    2024other non-current assets$289
    2024total assets$202,653
    2024current installments of long-term obligations$1,504
    2024cash and cash equivalents$10,823
    2024current receivables, net$13,611
    2024assets held for sale$122
    2024other current assets$1,757
    2024total current assets$26,313
    2024property, equipment, and software, net$14,619
    2024non-current receivables, net$903
    2024goodwill$66,966
    2024intangible assets, net$88,666
    2024investing activities issuance of operating loans to franchisees-$159
    2024payments received on operating loans to franchisees$546
    2024current operating lease liabilities$2,151
    2024accounts payable and accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$20,094
    2024other current liabilities$1,414
    2024total current liabilities$25,163
    2024long-term obligations, excluding current installments, net$73,605
    2024non-current operating lease liabilities$2,572
    2024total liabilities$101,575
    2024member's equity member's capital$101,222
    2024total member's equity$101,078
    2024total liabilities and member's equity$202,653
    2024service and other$88,586
    2024depreciation and amortization expense$10,004
    2024total operating expenses$80,763
    2024income$7,823
    2024other-$361
    2024interest expense, net-$10,483
    2024income tax benefit$319
    2024net lossMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$3,340
    2024provision for doubtful accounts$1,779
    2024depreciation and amortization charges$10,004
    2024deferred income taxes$69
    2024accounts, notes, and interest receivable-$867
    2024accounts payable and accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$1,019
    2024deferred revenue-$442
    2024net cash provided by operating activities$7,603
    2024purchases of property, equipment, and software-$3,589
    2024repayment of other long-term obligations-$28
    2024net cash provided by$994
    2024effect of exchange rate changes on cash, net-$46
    2024cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year$5,876
    2024cash and cash equivalents at end of year$10,823
    2024supplemental cash flow disclosure cash paid for taxes, net of refunds$552
    2024cash paid for interest$10,967
    2024accrued capital expenditures$376
    2023income taxes-$201
    2023supplemental cash flow disclosure cash paid for taxes, net of refunds$505
    2023payments received on operating loans to franchisees$609
    2023depreciation and amortization expense$30,768
    2023total operating expenses$180,336
    2023purchases of company-owned offices, area developer rights, and acquired customer lists-$579
    2023repayment of other long-term obligations-$37
    2023net cash provided by-$4,598
    2023income-$79,442
    2023income tax benefit$9,948
    2023provision for doubtful accounts$3,650
    2023accounts payable and accrued expenses-$2,092
    2023net cash provided by operating activities$12,916
    2023investing activities issuance of operating loans to franchisees-$389
    2023service and other$100,894
    2023total revenues$100,894
    2023selling, general, and administrative expenses$79,996
    2023impairment expense$69,572
    2023other$1,324
    2023interest expense, net-$10,397
    2023loss before income taxes-$88,515
    2023net lossMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$98,463
    2023net lossMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$98,463
    2023depreciation and amortization charges$30,768
    2023loss on disposal of fixed assets$718
    2023gain on bargain purchases and sales of company-owned offices-$1,683
    2023deferred income taxes$9,168
    2023accounts, notes, and interest receivable$3,740
    2023other assets$1,048
    2023deferred revenue-$813
    2023purchases of property, equipment, and software-$4,401
    2023net cash used in investing activities-$4,736
    2023effect of exchange rate changes on cash, net$10
    2023net increase in cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash$3,592
    2023cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year$2,284
    2023cash and cash equivalents at end of year$5,876
    2023cash paid for interest$9,465
    2023accrued capital expenditures$173

    These figures describe the franchisor company, not individual franchise locations.

    SBA-backed loans to franchisees

    Loading…

    Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.

    At a glance

    Business history

    Not reviewed

    Owner participation

    Not reviewed

    Territory language

    Litigation disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Bankruptcy disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Agreement term

    Not reviewed

    Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.