Pet Wants

    Franchise research report · reviewed 2026 disclosure data

    Researching Pet Wants franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.

    Reviewed sources
    Franchising since
    2015
    Source: franchise.org
    Headquarters
    Cincinnati, OH United States
    Source: franchise.org

    Pet Wants franchise specializes in fresh, natural pet food and treats delivered directly to customers' doors or sold through retail locations.

    Headline figures

    Quick facts

    How much does it cost to open a Pet Wants franchise?
    The Pet Wants Franchise Disclosure Document reports an estimated initial investment of $148,150–$239,400 (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 17). This is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
    What is the Pet Wants initial franchise fee?
    The disclosed initial franchise fee for a standard single unit is $10,000 (2026 FDD, Item 5, PDF p. 12). Other fee options (for example multi-unit or conversion) are listed separately in the report. Details
    What ongoing fees does Pet Wants charge?
    The disclosed ongoing royalty is 7% (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 13). The brand or advertising fund contribution is $10 (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 15). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
    Does Pet Wants disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Yes. The Pet Wants FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2026 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 38). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
    How many Pet Wants locations are there?
    The FDD reports 158 outlets at the end of 2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 42). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    What the disclosures show

    1. 1Opening costs are estimated at $148,150 – $239,400 in the 2026 FDD (Item 7); several initial fee options apply.
    2. 2Item 19 covers 11 separate groups: other measures for 12 Franchised locations; other measures for 13 Franchised locations; other measures for 13 Franchised locations; other measures for 13 Franchised locations; other measures for 51 Franchised locations; other measures for 12 Franchised locations; other measures for 12 Franchised locations; other measures for 12 Franchised locations; other measures for 12 Franchised locations; other measures for 48 Franchised locations; other measures for 4 Franchised locations. They are not combined.
    3. 3Outlets declined by 1 in 2025, to 158 (United States, as labeled in the FDD, Item 20).

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    Costs · Items 5–7

    What does it cost to open?

    Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.

    Startup Investment — Item 7

    Total estimated initial investment

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17

    Standard single-unit franchise fee

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Discounted and multi-unit options are separate; see all fees.

    Ongoing Fees — Item 6

    Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.

    Royalty gross revenue percentage subject to monthly minimumsMain ongoing fee

    55 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.

    Financial Performance — Item 19

    What results are disclosed—and for which locations?

    11 separate populations, shown apart. Revenue is not owner income.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 12 locations

    Who is counted
    All stores — first quartile
    Period
    first quartile
    Excluded
    Delivery-only and stores not operating/reporting entire year excluded.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 13 locations

    Who is counted
    All stores — second quartile
    Period
    second quartile
    Excluded
    Delivery-only and stores not operating/reporting entire year excluded.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 13 locations

    Who is counted
    All stores — third quartile
    Period
    third quartile
    Excluded
    Delivery-only and stores not operating/reporting entire year excluded.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 13 locations

    Who is counted
    All stores — fourth quartile
    Period
    fourth quartile
    Excluded
    Delivery-only and stores not operating/reporting entire year excluded.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 51 locations

    Who is counted
    All stores — cumulative
    Period
    cumulative
    Excluded
    Delivery-only and stores not operating/reporting entire year excluded.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 12 locations

    Who is counted
    Single unit — first quartile
    Period
    first quartile
    Excluded
    Excludes multiunit owners and 13 other stores per source; only full-year reporting stores.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 12 locations

    Who is counted
    Single unit — second quartile
    Period
    second quartile
    Excluded
    Excludes multiunit owners and 13 other stores per source; only full-year reporting stores.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 12 locations

    Who is counted
    Single unit — third quartile
    Period
    third quartile
    Excluded
    Excludes multiunit owners and 13 other stores per source; only full-year reporting stores.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 12 locations

    Who is counted
    Single unit — fourth quartile
    Period
    fourth quartile
    Excluded
    Excludes multiunit owners and 13 other stores per source; only full-year reporting stores.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 48 locations

    Who is counted
    Single unit — cumulative
    Period
    cumulative
    Excluded
    Excludes multiunit owners and 13 other stores per source; only full-year reporting stores.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record

    Other measures · 4 locations

    Who is counted
    Multiple-store owners
    Period
    Percent at/above average
    Excluded
    Four multiple-store franchisees.
    Method
    Franchisee reports not audited or independently verified; gross revenue excludes refunds/discounts and collected sales/excise taxes; no costs or fees deducted. Source populations retained without reconciliation.

    These groups are never combined.

    Outlet Changes — Item 20

    How has the outlet count changed?

    United States, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of 2025 of each year.

    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 42

    Net +12 outlets, 2023–2025

    0146202315920241582025+13−1

    Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero, so the line looks nearly flat; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2025 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.

    Questions to investigate

    Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.

    For the franchisor

    • Which line items in the 2026 Item 7 estimate ($148,150 – $239,400) vary most by market, and why?

    • Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?

    • Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?

    • Reported units decreased from 159 to 158 in 2025. What drove the change?

    • Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?

    For current and former owners

    • How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?

    • How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?

    • How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?

    • What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?

    For your advisors

    • Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.

    • Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.

    Sources & vintage history

    Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.

    Citations (2026 FDD)

    1. [1]Estimated initial investment — Item 7 · PDF p. 17
    2. [2]Standard initial franchise fee — Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    3. [3]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All stores — first quartile · PDF p. 38
    4. [4]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All stores — second quartile · PDF p. 38
    5. [5]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All stores — third quartile · PDF p. 39; PDF p. 38
    6. [6]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All stores — fourth quartile · PDF p. 39
    7. [7]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All stores — cumulative · PDF p. 39
    8. [8]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Single unit — first quartile · PDF p. 40
    9. [9]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Single unit — second quartile · PDF p. 40
    10. [10]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Single unit — third quartile · PDF p. 40
    11. [11]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Single unit — fourth quartile · PDF p. 40; PDF p. 41
    12. [12]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Single unit — cumulative · PDF p. 41
    13. [13]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Multiple-store owners · PDF p. 41
    14. [14]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 42

    "PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page. Source document: FDD

    Territory & operations

    55 addresses in Franopolis's imported location list. Coverage may differ from Item 20 outlet counts.

    These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.

    Franchisor financial statements

    Fiscal yearMeasureReported value
    2025restricted cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$76,140
    2025inventoryMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$68,762
    2025computer equipment$14,516
    2025leasehold improvements$20,845
    2025accumulated depreciation-$29,118
    2025franchise contract assetMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$162,540
    2025operating right-of-use assets$196,052
    2025accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$327,985
    2025deferred revenueMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$493,813
    2025unearned franchise fees$92,000
    2025operating lease liabilities, current portion$80,038
    2025franchise contract liabilityMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$685,997
    2025operating lease liabilities, less current portion$123,516
    2025members' equity$700,327
    2025national branding fund revenue$829,967
    2025bank & payroll fees$10,918
    2025computer expenses$44,735
    2025depreciationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$939
    2025dues & subscriptions$3,171
    2025insurance$9,844
    2025leased employees expenses$1,623,284
    2025national branding fund expenses$688,275
    2025office & supplies$9,996
    2025postage$3,461
    2025professional fees$348,511
    2025rent$87,213
    2025repairs & maintenance$129
    2025sales related expenses$205,464
    2025telephone$11,832
    2025training & meetings$84,029
    2025total expenses$3,663,819
    2025income from operations$602,747
    2025total other income$10,950
    2025net income$613,697
    2025members' equity, beginning$286,630
    2025depreciationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$939
    2025non-cash lease expense$2,235
    2025members' equity, ending$700,327
    2025cash flows from operating activities net income$613,697
    2025inventoryMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$109,845
    2025deposits$3,000
    2025accounts payableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$56,829
    2025deferred revenueMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$28,088
    2025franchise contract liabilityMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$22,027
    2025unearned revenue$57,500
    2025cash and restricted cash at end of year$1,194,309
    2025net cash used by financing activities-$200,000
    2025cash and restricted cash at beginning of year$533,255
    2025cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$1,118,169
    2025total cash and restricted cash$1,194,309
    2025interest income$10,950
    2025net cash provided$861,054
    2025restricted cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$76,140
    2025employee-related expenses$21,414
    2025franchise contract assetMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$23,427
    2025distributions-$200,000
    2025change in cash and restricted cash$661,054
    2025accounts receivableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$1,002,952
    2025from franchise agreements$3,436,599
    2025accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$225,143
    2025advertising & marketing$465,433
    2025licenses$45,171
    2025cash flows from financing activities distributions-$200,000
    2025accounts receivableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$20,934
    2025accounts payableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$127,182
    2025cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$1,118,169
    2024restricted cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$25,140
    2024accounts receivableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$982,018
    2024inventoryMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$178,607
    2024computer equipment$14,516
    2024accumulated depreciation-$28,179
    2024depositsMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$3,000
    2024franchise contract assetMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$139,113
    2024accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$102,842
    2024unearned franchise fees$34,500
    2024operating lease liabilities, less current portion$309,529
    2024members' equity$286,630
    2024from franchise agreements$3,244,240
    2024national branding fund revenue$789,377
    2024computer expenses$40,326
    2024dues & subscriptions$2,504
    2024leased employees expenses$1,514,844
    2024licenses$36,759
    2024national branding fund expenses$678,395
    2024postage$8,950
    2024rent$112,990
    2024telephone$6,676
    2024training & meetings$82,501
    2024income from operations$338,232
    2024gain on disposal of property and equipmentMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$10,170
    2024total other income$20,803
    2024members' equity, beginning$122,595
    2024depreciationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$1,140
    2024gain on disposal of property and equipmentMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$10,170
    2024members' equity, ending$286,630
    2024accounts receivableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$659,333
    2024depositsMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$4,200
    2024franchise contract assetMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$14,026
    2024accounts payableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$122,361
    2024deferred revenueMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$521,901
    2024unearned revenue-$174,000
    2024net cash provided-$133,333
    2024net cash provided by investing activities$12,834
    2024cash flows from financing activities distributions-$195,000
    2024net cash used by financing activities-$195,000
    2024change in cash and restricted cash-$315,499
    2024cash and restricted cash at beginning of year$848,754
    2024cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$508,115
    2024restricted cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$25,140
    2024total cash and restricted cash$533,255
    2024cash flows from investing activities proceeds from sale of property and equipment$12,834
    2024sales related expenses$279,300
    2024total expenses$3,695,385
    2024distributions-$195,000
    2024cash flows from operating activities net income$359,035
    2024franchise contract liabilityMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$9,979
    2024cash and restricted cash at end of year$533,255
    2024employee-related expenses$17,414
    2024net income$359,035
    2024cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$508,115
    2024franchise contract liabilityMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$708,024
    2024bank & payroll fees$7,347
    2024state and local taxes-$698
    2024repairs & maintenance$669
    2024insurance$9,884
    2024accounts payableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$184,011
    2024deferred revenueMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$521,901
    2024depreciationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$1,140
    2024operating right-of-use assets$417,240
    2024operating lease liabilities, current portion$112,978
    2024office & supplies$8,273
    2024interest income$11,331
    2024inventoryMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$169,873
    2024professional fees$356,697
    2024advertising & marketing$530,716
    2024accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$109,507
    2024leasehold improvements$20,845
    2024non-cash lease expense$4,918
    2023cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$824,608
    2023restricted cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$24,146
    2023accounts receivableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$322,685
    2023furniture, fixtures and equipment$69,256
    2023leasehold improvements$20,845
    2023accumulated depreciation-$93,631
    2023franchise contract assetMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$125,087
    2023operating right-of-use assets$21,384
    2023accounts payableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$61,650
    2023accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$212,349
    2023unearned franchise fees$208,500
    2023operating lease liabilities, current portion$21,733
    2023members' equity$122,595
    2023from franchise agreements$2,937,705
    2023national branding fund revenue$890,757
    2023advertising & marketing$376,882
    2023bank & payroll fees$8,301
    2023computer expenses$52,860
    2023depreciationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$1,705
    2023dues & subscriptions$4,561
    2023employee-related expenses$68,337
    2023insurance$10,312
    2023leased employees expenses$1,344,541
    2023licenses$36,282
    2023postage$9,680
    2023professional fees$318,193
    2023rent$109,008
    2023repairs & maintenance$455
    2023sales related expenses$409,893
    2023training & meetings$81,640
    2023total expenses$3,735,837
    2023income from operations$92,625
    2023interest income$4,028
    2023state and local taxes-$1,844
    2023total other income$2,184
    2023net income$94,809
    2023members' equity, beginning$312,786
    2023depreciationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$30,783
    2023non-cash lease expense-$1,002
    2023members' equity, ending$122,595
    2023cash flows from operating activities net income$94,809
    2023accounts receivableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$42,022
    2023inventoryMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$26,018
    2023other receivable$44,418
    2023franchise contract assetMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$20,819
    2023accounts payableMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$34,622
    2023accrued expensesMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$54,356
    2023franchise contract liabilityMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing-$12,551
    2023unearned revenue$208,500
    2023net cash provided$347,868
    2023cash flows from financing activities distributions-$285,000
    2023net cash used by financing activities-$285,000
    2023change in cash and restricted cash$62,868
    2023cash and restricted cash at end of year$848,754
    2023cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$824,608
    2023restricted cashMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$24,146
    2023total cash and restricted cash$848,754
    2023cash and restricted cash at beginning of year$785,886
    2023computer equipment$14,516
    2023inventoryMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$8,734
    2023national branding fund expenses$882,465
    2023office & supplies$12,844
    2023distributions-$285,000
    2023telephone$7,878
    2023franchise contract liabilityMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing$718,003
    2023deposits$7,200

    These figures describe the franchisor company, not individual franchise locations.

    SBA-backed loans to franchisees

    Loading…

    Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.

    At a glance

    Business history

    Not reviewed

    Owner participation

    Not reviewed

    Territory language

    Litigation disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Bankruptcy disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Agreement term

    Not reviewed

    Reader notes on wording

    Our automated check found that these summaries may not match the FDD's exact wording. Read the FDD excerpt itself; it is the authoritative text. Core cost, fee, Item 19 and outlet figures are not affected.

    • Item 19 · PDF p. 41 · 2026 FDD

      Our summary: Multiple-store owners — Percent at/above average

      “Percentage of franchisees that attained or surpassed Average Gross Revenue 25 %”

      Note: Page 41 gives four multiple-store franchisees, not a whole location count. Value supported for owner population, but location sample cannot be verified or inferred.

    • Item 19 · PDF p. 41 · 2026 FDD

      Our summary: Multiple-store owners — Average Gross Rev enues

      “Average Gross Rev enues $ 1,342,813 ”

      Note: Page 41 supports value for four multiple-store franchisees, but does not supply a whole location count. Existing sample_size uses owners rather than locations; cannot verify location sample or infer it.

    • Item 19 · PDF p. 41 · 2026 FDD

      Our summary: Multiple-store owners — High Range of Gross Rev enues

      “High Range of Gross Rev enues $ 1,764,301 ”

      Note: Page 41 gives four multiple-store franchisees, not a whole location count. Value supported for owner population, but location sample cannot be verified or inferred.

    • Item 19 · PDF p. 41 · 2026 FDD

      Our summary: Multiple-store owners — Low Range of Gross Rev enues

      “Low Range of Gross Rev enues $934,120 ”

      Note: Page 41 gives four multiple-store franchisees, not a whole location count. Value supported for owner population, but location sample cannot be verified or inferred.

    • Item 19 · PDF p. 41 · 2026 FDD

      Our summary: Multiple-store owners — Sample size

      “# of Franchises 4”

      Note: Page 41 gives four multiple-store franchisees, not a whole location count. Value supported for owner population, but location sample cannot be verified or inferred.

    • Item 19 · PDF p. 41 · 2026 FDD

      Our summary: Multiple-store owners — Median Gross Rev enues

      “Median Gross Rev enues $ 1,336,415 ”

      Note: Page 41 supports value for four multiple-store franchisees, but does not supply a whole location count. Existing sample_size uses owners rather than locations; cannot verify location sample or infer it.

    Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.