Franchise opportunities compared

    Holiday Inn Express vs HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Not available

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Holiday Inn Express

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 31

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    5.5%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    Before you compare

    • Holiday Inn Express figures come from its 2026 FDD and HomeTowne Studios hotel figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Holiday Inn Express: 3, HomeTowne Studios hotel: 6). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available
    No reviewed Item 7 total

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Not available
    No reviewed Item 7 total
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Holiday Inn Express

    6%
    Royalty fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 31

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    5.5%
    Royalty
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Holiday Inn Express

    $10
    Initial marketing contribution to loyalty program
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 32

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    3%
    Marketing and Reservation Fee — 3%
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    45
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 66
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available
    Only one year reported

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    +27
    Calculated: 18 at end of 2022 → 45 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Holiday Inn Express

    1991
    From a verified franchisor listing

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Holiday Inn Express

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    HomeTowne Studios hotel

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Holiday Inn Express
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Holiday Inn Express Mature Hotels
    70.1 percent
    other Occupancy Rate
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 98
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Holiday Inn Express Mature Hotels
    100.1 percent
    other IHG One Rewards Room Nights Contribution range high
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 99
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Holiday Inn Express Mature Hotels
    2,340 units
    other US Holiday Inn Express hotels open as of Dec 31, 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 98
    HSHomeTowne Studios hotel
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate-Owned HomeTowne Studios Hotels in the 2023 RevPAR Index group
    92.6 percent
    other 2023 RevPAR Index
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 64
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate-owned HomeTowne Studios Hotels open and operating for at least one ye…
    $55
    other Affiliate-Owned Hotels meeting the stated criteria
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 64
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate-owned HomeTowne Studios Hotels open and operating for at least one ye…
    53.54 percent
    other Affiliate-Owned Hotels meeting the stated criteria
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 64
    +3 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Holiday Inn Express vs HomeTowne Studios hotel: common questions

    How do Holiday Inn Express and HomeTowne Studios hotel royalties compare?
    Holiday Inn Express: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 31); HomeTowne Studios hotel: 5.5% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Do Holiday Inn Express and HomeTowne Studios hotel disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Holiday Inn Express has reviewed Item 19 figures for 3 location groups; HomeTowne Studios hotel has reviewed Item 19 figures for 6 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching