Explore by State / Virginia
Franchise Opportunities in Virginia
Reported facts for published brands with locations on file in Virginia. Existing locations do not confirm territory availability. No rankings or recommendations.
Registration state- 482
- Brands with locations on file
- 4,147
- Locations on file
- $137K
- Median reported low-end investment
- 384
- Brands whose FDD includes Item 19 figures
What this guide contains
- Registration: Virginia is a franchise registration state.
- 101 brands report a total initial investment topping out at $150K or less.
- Business context, industries, the largest systems on file, and FAQs.
How to read it
Counts show presence in our research records, not franchises for sale or available territories. Investment figures are national, as reported by franchisors. Calculated median uses reported low-end totals.
Local context
Doing business in Virginia
Franchise activity in Virginia on file centers on Northern Virginia, Richmond, Virginia Beach–Norfolk. Home Services is the most common industry among brands with locations here (85 brands). Local costs, labor markets and rules differ by metro, so read national figures alongside local research.
Major metro markets
- • Northern Virginia
- • Richmond
- • Virginia Beach–Norfolk
Taxes
Virginia levies a personal income tax.
Sales tax rates vary by locality.
Labor
Virginia sets a minimum wage above the federal $7.25/hr; some cities set higher rates.
Virginia is a right-to-work state.
Franchise law
Registration state: franchisors must register their FDD with Virginia before selling here.
You must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying.
General public information, not legal or tax advice. Rates and rules change — verify with the state revenue, labor and franchise regulators.
Industries
Browse franchises in Virginia by industry
Size on file
Largest systems by locations on file in Virginia
Ordered by location count in our records — a size measure, not a quality ranking.
| Franchise | Locations in VA | Reported investment | Item 19 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anytime Fitness Fitness & Recreation | 176 | $539K–$905K | ● Disclosed |
| Jackson Hewitt Financial Services | 132 | $19K–$71K | ● Disclosed |
| Dunkin' Food & Beverage | 118 | $10K–$1.8M | ● Disclosed |
| The UPS Store® Retail | 92 | $86K–$606K | ● Disclosed |
| ORANGETHEORY Fitness & Recreation | 71 | $765K–$1.1M | ● Disclosed |
| Bojangles Opco, LLC Food & Beverage | 69 | $781K–$2.9M | ● Disclosed |
| Liberty Tax Service Financial Services | 57 | $50K–$50K | ● Disclosed |
| Jazzercise Fitness & Recreation | 53 | $2K–$64K | ○ None verified |
| Super 8 Worldwide Hospitality & Travel | 48 | Not disclosed | ● Disclosed |
| Marcospizza Food & Beverage | 45 | $26K–$811K | ● Disclosed |
Questions
Frequently asked questions
General information, not legal advice. State rules change; verify with the state regulator.
Directory
All franchises with locations in Virginia
482 franchises
- Anytime Fitness176 locations$539K–$905KDisclosed
Fitness & Recreation
- Jackson Hewitt132 locations$19K–$71KDisclosed
Financial Services
- Dunkin'118 locations$10K–$1.8MDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- The UPS Store®92 locations$86K–$606KDisclosed
Retail
- ORANGETHEORY71 locations$765K–$1.1MDisclosed
Fitness & Recreation
- Bojangles Opco, LLC69 locations$781K–$2.9MDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Liberty Tax Service57 locations$50K–$50KDisclosed
Financial Services
- Jazzercise53 locations$2K–$64KNone verified
Fitness & Recreation
- Super 8 Worldwide48 locationsNot disclosedDisclosed
Hospitality & Travel
- Marcospizza45 locations$26K–$811KDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Mathnasium Learning Centers45 locations$105K–$166KDisclosed
Children & Education
- Sport Clips, Inc.42 locationsNot disclosedDisclosed
Beauty & Personal Care
- H R Block Tax Services41 locations$36K–$161KNone verified
Financial Services
- 7-Eleven, Inc.40 locations$142K–$1.6MNone verified
Retail
- McAlister’s Deli40 locations$910K–$2.6MDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Moe’s Southwest Grill40 locations$644K–$644KDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Vision Source LLC40 locations$100K–$450KNone verified
Health & Wellness
- Crumbl38 locationsNot disclosedDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Papa John’s Pizza38 locations$125K–$890KDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Sonic Drive-In38 locations$1.5M–$1.5MDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Courtyard By Marriott37 locations$15.1M–$41.2MDisclosed
Hospitality & Travel
- Burger King36 locations$565K–$979KDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- European Wax Center36 locations$332K–$777KDisclosed
Beauty & Personal Care
- Chick-fil-A32 locations$586K–$3.4MDisclosed
Food & Beverage
- Nothing Bundt Cakes32 locationsNot disclosedDisclosed
Food & Beverage
Investment figures are national Item 7 totals as reported by each franchisor. Location counts reflect lists on file and can be incomplete.